EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held on 15 February 2024

PRESENT:	Independent Members
	Dr T Rhys Davies Mr Brace Griffiths Mr John R Jones Mrs Gill Murgatroyd Mr Trefor Owen
	Representing the County Council
	Councillor Margaret M Roberts
	Representing Town and Community Councils
	Councillor lorwerth Roberts
IN ATTENDANCE:	Director of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer Solicitor (Corporate Governance) (MY) Committee Officer (SC)
APOLOGIES:	Councillor Dafydd Rhys Thomas Councillor Margaret Thomas (Town & Community Council Representative)

1 CHAIR FOR THE MEETING

Mr John R Jones was elected Chair for the meeting.

2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

3 ELECTION OF CHAIR

Submitted - a report by the Director of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer on the procedure to elect a Chair of the Standards Committee in accordance with the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001 and Paragraph 2.9.2.6.2 of the Council's Constitution.

The Standards Committee shall elect a Chairperson from amongst its five independent members for a term of not less than four nor more than six years, or until the independent member's term of office on the Standards Committee expires.

Biographies of the five independent members were included in Enclosures 1 - 5 of the report.

RESOLVED to elect Dr Rhys Davies as Chair of the Standards Committee for a term of four years (subject to re-election).

Mr John R Jones welcomed Dr Rhys Davies to the role of Chair and wished him well in his term of office. Dr Rhys Davies thanked Mr Jones for his work and guidance over the past four years as Chair, as well as the Standards Committee for their support and electing him. He stated that he was looking forward to working with members of the Standards Committee and officers over the next four years.

4 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Submitted - a report by the Director of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer on the procedure to elect a Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee in accordance with the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001.

The Standards Committee shall elect a Vice-Chairperson from amongst its independent members for a term of not less than four nor more than six years, or until the independent member's term of office on the Standards Committee expires.

RESOLVED to elect Mr Trefor Owen as Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee for a term of four years (subject to re-election).

DR RHYS DAVIES CHAIR